Closed Captions (CEA-608/708 or EIA-608/708) : How to integrate them?

Hello,

As the title says, I’m looking for a way to integrate Closed Captions (CEA-608 generated with Adobe Premiere Pro) into a video track without burning the subtitles on the video, therefore having proper Closed Captions that could be enabled on TV for example.

I’m a total rookie in terms of programming, and in terms of Gstreamer, I’ve been mostly relying on AI to form pipelines and test them but none of them have worked in the intended way. This kind of captionning seems to be restricted to TV Broadcasting softwares or something, because apart from Gstreamer, there are not a lot of options (none at all to be honest) to do this.

So as there’s no more trustable ally than a human brain, I’m here asking for your help to make it work… (Pretty please).

Could someone that has succeeded at making Closed Captions in the described way, share their code so I can see if it could work for me and if not, try to modify it so it does?

I have a H264 .ts file as a video input, and a CEA-608 .txt file as a caption input (the file generated through Adobe Premiere), don’t know if that could help but I thought it wouldn’t hurt to specify the kind of files I’m working with as it might be a source of errors (?).

Thank you !!

Note :

My last attempt was with this code gst-launch-1.0 filesrc name=filesrc5 location=1.txt ! ccconverter name=ccconverter6 ! cc708overlay name=cc708overlay2 ! autovideoconvert name=autovideoconvert3 ! x264enc bitrate=2000 ! flvmux name=mux ! filesink location=1.flv filesrc location=1.ts name=videotestsrc1 ! decodebin ! videoconvert ! cc708overlay2.

Additional debug info:
../ext/closedcaption/gstceaccoverlay.c(988): gst_cea_cc_overlay_cc_event (): /GstPipeline:pipeline0/GstCeaCcOverlay:cc708overlay2:
received non-TIME newsegment event on text input

Redistribute latency...