What is the rationale of setting linux capabilities for the gst-ptp-helper executable?

I am totally new to gstreamer, so please forgive me if this question makes no sense or the answer/explanation is obvious - unfortunately, I did not find anything related to this finding. I have checked the capabilities of the gst-ptp-helper executable on a Fedora 38 and 39:

# getcap /usr/libexec/gstreamer-1.0/gst-ptp-helper
/usr/libexec/gstreamer-1.0/gst-ptp-helper cap_net_bind_service,cap_net_admin,cap_sys_nice=ep

As I had no luck yet to check on any other distribution, this might be not gstreamer-related, but Fedora-related instead; still, it is weird to assign these capabilities for a binary related to gstreamer. I dropped these capabilities manually, and everything depending on the package gstreamer1 seem to work flawlessly: wine, libreoffice, chromium-browser, gedit, torbrowser-launcher, wireshark.

According to gstreamer1-1.22.6-1.fc38 - Fedora Packages on 2023-06-08 the setcap was done on this executable. Doing the detective work, I arrived to ptp-helper: Rewrite in Rust for portability and safety (!3889) · Merge requests · GStreamer / gstreamer · GitLab and here I am stuck - there is information about the cap_sys_nice, but no info about the other capabilities. I am going to contact the authors of these findings, but please give me hints why the assignment of these capabilities would be required. Thank you very much.

The reason for the capabilities is that this helper process has to bind to ports 319/320 for receiving PTP packets, and unfortunately UNIX considers ports < 1024 as privileged.

In addition this process runs at a higher scheduling priority to make it less likely that scheduler jitter influences the timing measurements.

And last, it is listing all network interfaces and their MAC addresses to generate a local PTP clock ID, and to understand on which interfaces it is worthwhile listening for PTP packets.